Gratitude in a List

A non-exhaustive list – in no particular order – of things, people, and experiences I am grateful for. Some eternally, some momentarily:

  • My health.
  • Myself.
  • Solitude.
  • Silence.
  • The time a bird flew close to my car while I was driving and, for a few seconds, it was like we were traveling together.
  • The rabbit we saw in a park in NY, the one that knew something.
  • CN – for being one of very few people who makes me genuinely laugh out loud. I love you and am so grateful you are my friend.
  • RZ – for bearing witness to insanity  and making it tolerable.
  • Music.
  • My P-Knot and the P-Knot crew, for being kind.
  • Philosophy.
  • My car.
  • Warmth.
  • DC – for being a friend.
  • Every animal that has ever existed, particularly those I’ve petted.
  • The internet.
  • Roger the Alien for being hilarious.
  • The gentleman who kindly asked me to smile when he saw me walking during my 2015 graduation ceremony.
  • The time I was on hold for over an hour with a company notorious for its shoddy customer service but ended up talking to someone knowledgeable.
  • The solo drive I took to Canada.
  • That bit of blubber over a shar pei’s nose.
  • ASMR.
  • Socks.
  • New Orleans.
  • Learning about introversion and knowing it’s okay to possess it; INTJ.
  • Ocarina of Time and Resident Evil 4.
  • Existentialism.
  • American Horror Story, Seasons 1 – 4.
  • TF.
  • Everything that broke my heart, before it broke my heart.
  • My threader earrings.
  • Riddles.
  • Silence. Solitude.

© Leila Chammas, December 20, 2016.

Leave a Reply

